How to Reverse Plus Work Order Production Entries

Q - My staff made mistakes with BOMP Plus Work Order Production entries, and those entries were posted already. When I try to enter a negative quantity or negative hours to reverse the mistake, the system complains that the "Qty Should Be Positive" or "Hours Should Be Positive." How can I reverse those entries with mistakes? 

A - First, you need to make sure that the user who needs to enter the reverse entries for the BOMP Plus Work Order Production Transaction has the proper security.  Please go to Elliott Main Menu -> Util-Setup -> Password Setup -> Global Security -> User Global Security.  Enter the User ID and The Company (default 00 = All). Go to screen 6 and change the following flag to "Y":  "Allow User to Enter BOMP +WO Reverse Trx."  See the example below:



If you wish to allow most of the users to have this right, you could go to Elliott Main Menu -> Util-Setup -> Password Setup -> Global Security -> Global Default Security to change this flag to "Y" so by default all users have this right.

Now the user can go to BOMP -> Processing -> Production Transaction Processing -> Process -> Plus Work Order -> Add.  When your cursor is at "5. Qty Complete," you will see the "F7=Search Reverse Trx" function available.  See the example below:



If you press F7, then you may pick the past production transaction for this operation that you want to reverse out.  See the example below:



Press Enter to select the transaction you want to reverse and complete the entry.  After you post your reverse entry, it will create the net effect to reverse the previous mistake.  After that, you can enter the correct information.  The system is designed so that you have to reverse the entire mistaken entry, then enter the correct information to make it easier to audit.  That is the reason why the system does not let you enter a negative quantity or hours in the free form manner.  This method works well as long as the Plus Work Order is not yet completed.  The adjustment amount will be absorbed by the yet-to-be-completed parent items.

If the work order has been completed already, you will need to re-open the work order by going to BOMP -> Processing -> Production Order Entry -> Process -> Plus Work Order -> Re-Open.

If your adjustment is to a re-opened work order that is not the last operation performed (Y count point,) then when you try to close the work order with the last operation, you will likely enter the Qty Complete = 0.  This will cause your adjustment amount to be posted to the WIP Variance Account since there are no parent items to be completed to absorb the difference of the adjustment.  The WIP Variance account is defined in BOMP -> Util-Setup -> BOMP Setup.

Feedback and Knowledge Base